Tolkien Articles & Reviews

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve."
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

In the Articles, Essays, Interview & Review section you can read my opinion and descriptions of books by and about J.R.R. Tolkien. Every few weeks or so I’ll pull a few books (new and old) off my shelves and give a description as to what these titles are about. Also I will preview new books here that are just for sale or reviews of advanced reading copies (whenever i can lay my hands on them). Further here will be put Q&A interviews with writers of recent books or of people of importance to Tolkien collecting and research on the field of Tolkien in general. Articles on Tolkien and Tolkien collecting as well as important news will be listed here.

The writing of book reviews and articles on Tolkien subjects is time demanding. Therefore your help is always welcome. When you want to help writing articles, essays, news or book reviews, please click here.

Articles about Tolkien, reviews and interviews with authors, artists & experts in the field of Tolkien research

Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Famous The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and Tolkien fans

Many celebrities do love books or movies and while most of the time we don't know for sure, there are many famous Tolkien fans out there. Here is an updated list of famous Tolkien fans and celebrities who like The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit and Tolkien. New on the list are British Royals Prince Charles and William, Venture capitalist Peter Thiel and pope Francis.  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Tolkien's Writings To Understand His Rules Of Life

J. R. R. Tolkien's letters and diaries hide many interesting details about our beloved writer. When noticed and revealed, they help us understand his personality and character much better, and make the final conclusion about what kind of a person this genius writer and charismatic man was.  Read article
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
On Tolkien Fundamentalism

Simon J. Cook returns to questions surrounding Tauriel and Tolkien fanaticism in a sequel to his April 1 article.  Read article
Tuesday 1 April 2014
Tuesday 1 April 2014
In praise of Peter Jackson's 'Hobbit'

Friends, elves and hobbits, lend him your ears. For with 'The Desolation of Smaug' soon out on DVD Simon J. Cook comes to praise Peter Jackson's interpretation of The Hobbit, not to bury it.  Read article
Wednesday 26 March 2014
Wednesday 26 March 2014
7 Things Tolkien Said About Life 7 Things Tolkien Said About Life

J.R.R. Tolkien wrote many books, including the Middle-earth stories. The Lord of the Rings, like many stories of an epic journey, brings us lessons we can apply to our life. No matter how surreal his epic stories are, the pieces of wisdom reflected in them mirror that of the wisdom we must gain to champion our life here on earth.  Read article
Wednesday 29 January 2014
Wednesday 29 January 2014
Continuing the Tolkien Legacy

In writing The Lord of the Rings, J. R. R Tolkien set himself up for a massive fan base. The fantasy world he created in his books is amazing interesting and the story has gathered thousands of diehard fans around the world. At this point, the story had a loyal following, but it was nowhere near as widespread as it is today.  Read article
Wednesday 8 January 2014
Wednesday 8 January 2014
Essay Topics and Study Questions on The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

This article by Robert Morris will help students tackle the challenge of reviewing The Hobbit by suggesting essay topics and providing guidance on the most common study questions associated to this book.  Read article
Thursday 2 January 2014
Thursday 2 January 2014
7 Delightful Tolkien Letters

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are not the only Tolkien gems we can get our hands on. I have to say that his letters are equally entertaining. If you want to know more about the beloved writer, his personal letters, published in The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien will help you gain such insight.  Read article
Sunday 8 December 2013
Sunday 8 December 2013
On the Origin of Hobbits: J.R.R. Tolkien's ideas of descent

Simon J. Cook continues his search for hobbits. This essay situates Tolkien's ideas of language, race and British history in relation to those of the Celtic scholar John Rhys, thereby generating a precise statement of the relationship between Rhys's account of the aboriginal inhabitants of the British Isles, hobbits, and some Big People.  Read article
Sunday 1 December 2013
Sunday 1 December 2013
Perfect Christmas gifts for Tolkien and The Hobbit fans

I can imagine many of the fans, and especially friends and family of these The Hobbit and Tolkien fans, are now looking for a gift. So let us have a look and see what is available. This year we saw a lot of The Hobbit related books being released and some can be called the 'perfect Christmas gift for any Tolkien fan'.  Read article
Sunday 24 November 2013
Sunday 24 November 2013
The Hobbit: A Classroom Guide

The creative and scholarly masterpiece The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien has been discussed in classroom since the release for most educational institutions believe that through examining this epic fantasy work, students can effectively understand different concepts of writing.  Read article
Friday 22 November 2013
Friday 22 November 2013
Tolkien books: how children grew up reading this classic

With classics which were written keeping the kids thinking and imagination in mind has always been something like the Tolkien books which not only captured the attention of the teenagers but also any person who wanted to get lost in the creation which would have come just out of sheer imagination.  Read article
Sunday 17 November 2013
Sunday 17 November 2013
The Lord of the Rings - The Book's Influence After 60 years

With the book telling a magical story of endless adventures and whimsical creatures, J.R.R. Tolkien not only came up with a fantasy-filled story for all ages to enjoy, but also sparked the interest in the fantasy genre itself. The book has influenced many aspects of our lives from books to movies, music, games, and more.  Read article
Sunday 17 November 2013
Sunday 17 November 2013
Interview with Paul Simpson and Brian J. Robb about Middle-earth Envisioned

Since I love Middle-earth Envisioned so much I wrote to the authors, Paul Simpson and Brian J. Robb, right after reading it and hope this interview sheds some more light on what to expect from this book. It is a big size coffee table book, full of art reproductions and amazing tales. There is something for everyone here! This is a must have book and the perfect gift for any Tolkien and Middle-earth lover.  Read article
Thursday 7 November 2013
Thursday 7 November 2013
The Road to the Misty Mountains and beyond - Alpenwild tour: In the footsteps of Tolkien

Alex Lewis tells us the tale of a tour he undertook similar to J.R.R. Tolkien's 1911 visit to Switzerland. He took the tour as Tolkien expert and now shares with us his story! Follow Alex Lewis in the footsteps of Tolkien.  Read article
Saturday 2 November 2013
Saturday 2 November 2013
Interview with Noble Smith about The Wisdom of the Shire: A Short Guide to a Long and Happy Life

In Wisdom of the Shire, Noble Smith sheds a light on the life-changing ideas tucked away inside the classic works of J. R. R. Tolkien and his most beloved creation, the stouthearted Hobbits. Translated in 8 languages, released one year ago and today available as paperback! Time for an interview.  Read article
Sunday 27 October 2013
Sunday 27 October 2013
Interview with Adam Roberts about The Riddles of The Hobbit

When I announced The Riddles of The Hobbit I already said I should ask the author some questions and so I wrote him and was happy to have several questions answered, just in time for the release of the book on the 1st of November 2013. I hope this sheds some light about this new book, that I have enjoyed reading and can only recommend.  Read article
Monday 21 October 2013
Monday 21 October 2013
Tolkien - The Man of Infinite Influences

If someone had to ask you to think of the world, focusing on how it would be different if certain key people never existed, that would be a rather difficult task to achieve. Can we imagine the differences we'd have if people like Leonardo da Vinci or Tolkien were never around to share their brilliant minds with us?  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin