Tolkien Articles & Reviews

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve."
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

In the Articles, Essays, Interview & Review section you can read my opinion and descriptions of books by and about J.R.R. Tolkien. Every few weeks or so I’ll pull a few books (new and old) off my shelves and give a description as to what these titles are about. Also I will preview new books here that are just for sale or reviews of advanced reading copies (whenever i can lay my hands on them). Further here will be put Q&A interviews with writers of recent books or of people of importance to Tolkien collecting and research on the field of Tolkien in general. Articles on Tolkien and Tolkien collecting as well as important news will be listed here.

The writing of book reviews and articles on Tolkien subjects is time demanding. Therefore your help is always welcome. When you want to help writing articles, essays, news or book reviews, please click here.

Articles about Tolkien, reviews and interviews with authors, artists & experts in the field of Tolkien research

Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
On Tolkien's Writing: Myth vs. Language

Tolkien always emphasized the fact that myths followed languages. In the following article Lesley Vos brings us a several examples of words created by Tolkien and an account of Tolkien's views concerning the relationship between a language and a myth.  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin
Sunday 10 may 2014
Sunday 10 may 2014
Frodo Lives

What is the relationship between our world and Middle-earth? Simon J. Cook explores the conflicting answers of Kirill Yeskov and William Puck in the final essay of his Tauriel trilogy.  Read article
Thursday 8 may 2014
Thursday 8 may 2014
J.R.R. Tolkien a poetic role model

J.R.R. Tolkien is one of the most loved, respected and remembered authors. The role model attractiveness of Tolkien's writing could be well gauged from the fact that he has given new dimensions and content value to the art of fantasy literature writings, including in it an array of legends, myths and heroic romantic stories.  Read article
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Famous The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and Tolkien fans

Many celebrities do love books or movies and while most of the time we don't know for sure, there are many famous Tolkien fans out there. Here is an updated list of famous Tolkien fans and celebrities who like The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit and Tolkien. New on the list are British Royals Prince Charles and William, Venture capitalist Peter Thiel and pope Francis.  Read article
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Tolkien's Writings To Understand His Rules Of Life

J. R. R. Tolkien's letters and diaries hide many interesting details about our beloved writer. When noticed and revealed, they help us understand his personality and character much better, and make the final conclusion about what kind of a person this genius writer and charismatic man was.  Read article
Wednesday 23 April 2014
Wednesday 23 April 2014
On Tolkien Fundamentalism

Simon J. Cook returns to questions surrounding Tauriel and Tolkien fanaticism in a sequel to his April 1 article.  Read article
Tuesday 1 April 2014
Tuesday 1 April 2014
In praise of Peter Jackson's 'Hobbit'

Friends, elves and hobbits, lend him your ears. For with 'The Desolation of Smaug' soon out on DVD Simon J. Cook comes to praise Peter Jackson's interpretation of The Hobbit, not to bury it.  Read article
Wednesday 26 March 2014
Wednesday 26 March 2014
7 Things Tolkien Said About Life 7 Things Tolkien Said About Life

J.R.R. Tolkien wrote many books, including the Middle-earth stories. The Lord of the Rings, like many stories of an epic journey, brings us lessons we can apply to our life. No matter how surreal his epic stories are, the pieces of wisdom reflected in them mirror that of the wisdom we must gain to champion our life here on earth.  Read article
Wednesday 29 January 2014
Wednesday 29 January 2014
Continuing the Tolkien Legacy

In writing The Lord of the Rings, J. R. R Tolkien set himself up for a massive fan base. The fantasy world he created in his books is amazing interesting and the story has gathered thousands of diehard fans around the world. At this point, the story had a loyal following, but it was nowhere near as widespread as it is today.  Read article
Wednesday 8 January 2014
Wednesday 8 January 2014
Essay Topics and Study Questions on The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

This article by Robert Morris will help students tackle the challenge of reviewing The Hobbit by suggesting essay topics and providing guidance on the most common study questions associated to this book.  Read article
Thursday 2 January 2014
Thursday 2 January 2014
7 Delightful Tolkien Letters

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are not the only Tolkien gems we can get our hands on. I have to say that his letters are equally entertaining. If you want to know more about the beloved writer, his personal letters, published in The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien will help you gain such insight.  Read article
Sunday 8 December 2013
Sunday 8 December 2013
On the Origin of Hobbits: J.R.R. Tolkien's ideas of descent

Simon J. Cook continues his search for hobbits. This essay situates Tolkien's ideas of language, race and British history in relation to those of the Celtic scholar John Rhys, thereby generating a precise statement of the relationship between Rhys's account of the aboriginal inhabitants of the British Isles, hobbits, and some Big People.  Read article
Sunday 1 December 2013
Sunday 1 December 2013
Perfect Christmas gifts for Tolkien and The Hobbit fans

I can imagine many of the fans, and especially friends and family of these The Hobbit and Tolkien fans, are now looking for a gift. So let us have a look and see what is available. This year we saw a lot of The Hobbit related books being released and some can be called the 'perfect Christmas gift for any Tolkien fan'.  Read article
Sunday 24 November 2013
Sunday 24 November 2013
The Hobbit: A Classroom Guide

The creative and scholarly masterpiece The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien has been discussed in classroom since the release for most educational institutions believe that through examining this epic fantasy work, students can effectively understand different concepts of writing.  Read article
Friday 22 November 2013
Friday 22 November 2013
Tolkien books: how children grew up reading this classic

With classics which were written keeping the kids thinking and imagination in mind has always been something like the Tolkien books which not only captured the attention of the teenagers but also any person who wanted to get lost in the creation which would have come just out of sheer imagination.  Read article
Sunday 17 November 2013
Sunday 17 November 2013
The Lord of the Rings - The Book's Influence After 60 years

With the book telling a magical story of endless adventures and whimsical creatures, J.R.R. Tolkien not only came up with a fantasy-filled story for all ages to enjoy, but also sparked the interest in the fantasy genre itself. The book has influenced many aspects of our lives from books to movies, music, games, and more.  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin