Monday 01 September 2014
Monday 01 September 2014
Tolkien's Triumph: The Strange History of 'The Lord of the Rings'

Simon Cook reviews John Lennard's Tolkien's Triumph, an ebook that consists of four solid chapters, which include much interesting background relating to the astonishing popular success of The Lord of the Rings.  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin
Sunday 25 August 2013
Sunday 25 August 2013
Riddles by a JRR Tolkien Fan - Pam Jones

Pam Jones is a full time writer and poet. She was inspired by JRR Tolkien's fantastic works The Hobbit initially, and then more recently by Peter Jackson's first part, of three, films. Therefore she wrote a range of 40 riddles inspired, and based on the theme of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit, and called the book that holds them Riddles by a JRR Tolkien Fan.  Read article
Thursday 8 August 2013
Thursday 8 August 2013
Tollywood and The Hobbit of the Rings, Vol. I

James Dunning, author of The Bright Lady and the Astral Wind, reviews The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and coins the terms Tollywood and Feanorean Plexiglas. I truly hope you all enjoy his humourous, tongue-in-cheek review as much as I did! I'm still with tears in my eyes from laughing!  Read article
Monday 21 January 2013
Monday 21 January 2013
Review of Beyond Time and Place - The Art of Paul Raymond Gregory

I think it is likely that only a few of the oldest Tolkien fans will remember Paul Raymond Gregory as an artist who briefly appeared on the scene back in the late 1970s and then vanished. It certainly came as a surprise to me that he had been working on Tolkien-inspired art ever since, alongside his main career as an album-cover artist and music promoter. The result is the collection of paintings which form part of this book.  Read article
Monday 5 March 2012
Monday 5 March 2012
The 2012 Tolkien Calendar by Cor Blok - a review by Ruth Lacon

I guess by now all have seen that the 2012 Tolkien Official Calendar again features the art by Cor Blok. I would love to review this years calendar, but I have come to love Cor Blok's art so much I would not give an objective opinion. So I was extremely glad to receive the following review by Ruth Lacon to feature here at my website.  Read article
Sunday 31 July 2011
Sunday 31 July 2011
Image and Glance - Some Thoughts on Tolkien-inspired Art and Illustration

I'm happy to publish the following essay by Ruth Lacon that reviews the Tolkien Calendar of 2011 that featured art by Cor Blok. In the mean time the new Tolkien calendar by Cor Blok is ready available and the book about his complete collection of Lord of the Rings works is one month away of being released.   Read article
Friday 5 November 2010
Friday 5 November 2010
Review: Looking for the King - An Inklings Novel

In Looking for the King we follow the American Tom McCord, a 23-year-old aspiring doctoral candidate, who is doing research on King Arthur and hopes to discover some historical evidence for the legendary king. Right in the beginning of the book he meets a girl called Laura Hartman, a fellow American staying in Oxford, who has been having mysterious dreams and visions that relate to the subject of research of Tom and so he hires her as his…  Read article
Thursday 25 June 2009
Thursday 25 June 2009
Review: Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion

Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion by Douglas C. Kane was published in March 2009. Today Im very happy to say that a reader from TolkienLibrary.com has contributed a review of this book. I hope this review will not only provoke people to leave a comment at the bottom of the article, but also to inspire them to sent in there own reviews of Tolkien books. It would be a big honor to publish them here.  Read article
Saturday 2 May 2009
Saturday 2 May 2009
Review: The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun by J.R.R. Tolkien

According to the Telegraph, the new Tolkien book is already one of Britains most pre-ordered titles, stating that fans of Tolkiens book will seek clues to the characters and events in his later novels, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The new Tolkien book is however something completely different, but nonetheless incredibly fascinating. The new book consists of two closely associated poems, to which Tolkien gave the titles The New…  Read article
Monday 10 November 2008
Monday 10 November 2008
Review: Tales of the Perilous Realm Dramatization re-released by BBC AudioBooks America

The newly released edition of the Tales from the Perilous Realm Radio Dramatization comes as four stories on three disks, each containing elements of fantasy and faerie, or in total 3hrs of listening pleasure. It has exactly the same size as the Hobbit dramatization, so they fit well together on a shelve. Included are Farmer Giles of Ham, Smith of Wooten Major, and the wonderful Leaf by Niggle, the most neglected pearl by Tolkien. Theres…  Read article
Monday 10 November 2008
Monday 10 November 2008
Review: The Hobbit Dramatization re-released by BBC AudioBooks America

The newly released edition of the Hobbit Radio Dramatization includes 4 CDs and a bonus CD featuring expanded versions of music composed by David Cain, specially commisioned for the dramatization and a rare interview with Tolkien. Here is my review of this set.  Read article
Sunday 19 October 2008
Sunday 19 October 2008
Review: The BBC Lord of the Rings Dramatization re-released by BBC AudioBooks America

Some, who know me very well, are aware that every day I have an hour drive to office (and back again in the evening) and that during that ride I always listen to either BBC World Service, or to Tolkien Audio Books. When the two come together, be sure that it is of interest to me. Here follows a review of the 1981 BBC dramatization of the Lord of the Rings, which has just been re-released in the US, and I highly recommend to any Tolkien…  Read article
Thursday 13 September 2007
Thursday 13 September 2007
Review of the new UK anniversary edition of the Hobbit

This edition is one of the most beautiful I have seen. In all ways the 70th anniversary edition is improving a lot on the current hardback edition of the Hobbit. Here is my review and some nice photographs. Happy birthday Bilbo Baggins.  Read article
Monday 1 January 2007
Monday 1 January 2007
First impressions of the Drout J.R.R. Tolkien Encyclopedia

The J.R.R. Tolkien Encyclopedia, edited by Michael Drout, is an 774-page book with alphabetically arranged entries on Tolkien's life and works. It is intended, says the publisher (Routledge - Tayler and Francis group), to prove both an essential resource for teaching and an invaluable companion to independent study, reliable for fact checking, and a solid starting point for wider exploration.  Read article
Sunday 24 September 2006
Sunday 24 September 2006
Writers Uncovered: J.R.R. Tolkien

A very nice book aimed at children, but nice for adults also. Read my review here.  Read article
Monday 11 September 2006
Monday 11 September 2006
Site Update - Books about Tolkien

We have added a major update to the book section. It now has the beginning of a list with books about J.R.R. Tolkien. Now reviewed are A Tolkien Compass, The Tolkien Companion, J.R.R. Tolkien: a biography, The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien: The Shores of Middle-earth, J.R.R. Tolkien - a descriptive bibliography, Tolkien a Celebration, Author of he Century, Meditations on Middle-Earth, The Real Middle-Earth, Tolkien and the great…  Read article
Thursday 27 October 2005
Thursday 27 October 2005
A Dutch marvel: In de Ban van de Hobbit

In de Ban van de Hobbit is a book for all who visited Middle Earth, by reading the books or seeing the movies, and want to find out know more about the creation of this world. The writer, Johan Vanhecke, has already written a lot of interesting articles concerning Tolkien and these were now brought together and reworked to present a whole.  Read article
Saturday 12 February 2005
Saturday 12 February 2005
The Tale of Gondolin assembled and revised by A.Lewis

The Tale of Gondolin is a book most Tolkien lovers did not hear of yet, maybe because it is a private publication and strictly limited to a Worldwide printing of just 50 COPIES. It is a book Compiled from the writings of J.R.R. Tolkien assembled and revised by author Alexander Lewis, illuminated and illustrated by Ruth Lacon.   Read article
Friday 11 February 2005
Friday 11 February 2005
Leaf by Niggle - a symbolic story about a small painter

Today i was reading in Letters by Humphrey Carpenter, while i was looking on a totally different subject i accidently bumped into letter 98 (18 March 1945), to Stanley Unwin. In this letter Tolkien talks about Leaf by Niggle   Read article
Sunday 4 April 2004
Sunday 4 April 2004
Review J.R.R. Tolkien a descriptive bibliography

A Descriptive Bibliography was written in 1993 by Wayne G. Hammond with the assistance of Douglas A. Anderson. Anyone willing to collect books by Tolkien simply must have this book. It covers every known detail about the publication of his books.  Read article
Buy art by Cor BlokTolkien Calendar 2014 - Jemina Catlin

Latest Tolkien Articles, Essays, News & Reviews

In the Articles, Essays, News & Reviews section you can read my opinion and descriptions of books by and about J.R.R. Tolkien. Every few weeks or so I’ll pull a few books (new and old) off my shelves and give a description as to what these titles are about. Also i will preview new books here who are just for sale or reviews of advanced reading copies (whenever i can lay my hands on them). Further here will be put Q&A interviews with writers of recent books or of people of importance to Tolkien collecting and research on the field of Tolkien in general. Articles on varias Tolkien and Tolkien collecting as well as important news will be listed here.

The writing of book reviews and articles on Tolkien subjects is time demanding. Therefor your help is always welcome. When you want to help writing articles, essays, news or book reviews, please click here.

bookmark Tolkien Library